This Alone Could Save Us is OUT NOW!

My new flash fiction collection This Alone Could Save Us has officially been published this week by Ad Hoc Fiction! The collection explores the theme of how well we handle change, as well as how our expectations of others don’t always match with the reality.

You can purchase This Alone Could Save Us from the Ad Hoc Fiction Bookshop by following clicking HERE. You can also purchase the book on Amazon, on Kindle, and on Kobo.

117003701_2695766567375283_2051469012355398347_o

The manuscript itself was finalised at the end of January 2020, and the world has changed in unimaginable ways since then…

Nonetheless, it was great to be able to celebrate the launch of This Alone Could Save Us via an online Zoom launch, the sort of which we’re very much used to now!

116692447_2696752740609999_6760855298733048880_o

I wasn’t sure what was more nerve-racking: reading to a room full of people or reading alone in a room to a screen of little faces staring at me with their mics on mute. On the plus side, these online events mean that so many people can attend events that they may not be able to do so otherwise. As well as the UK, people from the US, Belgium, and Ireland (and maybe other places?) were able to come along! When we are eventually allowed to do events out in the wild again, I hope events will become a kind of digital-physical hybrid.

It was great fun being able to read new stories from this collection, including some of my favourite published and unpublished stories, including Curving the Pointy Edges which was published in SmokeLong Quarterly at the end of last year.

It was also special because I was lucky enough to have some guest readers to help me launch the book: Kathy Fish, Meg Pokrass, Vanessa Gebbie, and Diane Simmons. These are all writers I greatly admire, and they were so kind enough to not only provide advance praise for the book but to also find the time to come to this launch. Their stories were absolutely stunning!

On publication day itself, my publisher surprised me with a socially-distanced visit along with a book-cover cake! I wasn’t expecting this at all, but I have always wanted to see my book on a cake! Unfortunately, the cake was so delicious that it didn’t last very long!

To round off, I would share a A HUGE THANK YOU to the following people: Kathy Fish, Meg Pokrass, Vanessa Gebbie, Diane Simmons, Angela Readman, and Robert Scotellaro for providing kind words for the back of the book; Stuart Buck for the incredible cover artwork; everyone who attended the launch, has purchased the book, and who has shared and helped me celebrate these stories; and to Jude Higgins and John at Ad Hoc Fiction, without whom this book wouldn’t exist!

 

You can purchase This Alone Could Save Us from the Ad Hoc Fiction Bookshop by following clicking HERE. You can also purchase the book on Amazon, on Kindle, and on Kobo.

Leave a comment