Upcoming Flash Fiction and Prose Poetry Publications in Fewer Than 500 and Unbroken Journal!

I woke up this morning to very good news!

Firstly, my flash fiction ‘Lens’ has been accepted for publication by Fewer Than 500 and will be published on 30th June. This is my second piece published by this online literary journal – I like how it looks and, most importantly, I like the writing they publish, and love that my flash fiction has been published alongside it. You can check them out by following this link –> Fewer Than 500. I recommend you do check them out, read what they publish, and submit your own flash fiction too!

I’m always delighted any of my writing is accepted for publication, but I am particularly excited about the second email I received today from Unbroken Literary Journal.

When you submit writing to publications, as I’m sure those of you reading this are probably aware, you can submit more than one piece. I read and loved the May/June issue of Unbroken, a journal that is dedicated to prose poetry and this inspired me to submit three poems: ‘Midnight Sky in Winter’‘Caught’, and ‘Stuck’. I was shocked to receive an email from the editor this morning saying that she loved all three of my prose poems and wanted to publish ‘Caught’ and ‘Stuck’ in the September/October issue and ‘Midnight Sky in Winter’ in their November/December issue.

I couldn’t believe it. I didn’t know (and still don’t know) which surprised me more: that the editor liked and wants to published all three of my poems, or that I’ve now made my poetry publication debut as I haven’t published poetry before!

You can read issues of Unbroken journal online by following this link –> Unbroken Journal – I encourage you all to read their latest issue which is powerful and poignant.

If you’re not usually a fan of poetry then I recommend you try out prose poetry. I used to never write poetry – I liked reading it but not writing it – but when I discovered prose poetry thanks to Carrie Etter’s Sudden Prose module on the Creative Writing BA at Bath Spa University (the link to the sudden prose blog is HERE and it’s great!) I found a new love and have experimented with this form ever since.

As always, I’ll post links to the Publications page when the writing has been published so you can check them out! And I haven’t forgotten my promise provide a blog post about something that isn’t me talking about upcoming publications – I have some ideas…

Leave a Reply

